Browned Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

One thing I love are Chocolate Chip Cookies. I am ALWAYS looking for the best recipe and each time I find a new one my husband says “You did it! That was way better than even the last ones!” Well, I’ve done it again. We were going over to a friends house Monday to help them out so I decided to make some cookies. I was going to make the Marry Me cookies but as I was melting the butter I decided that browned butter cookies would be even better!

Using this recipe I got to work!

Here was where I was first stationed in the kitchen, thinking I would make regular melted butter cookies…

20120903-214308.jpg

This was my first time browning butter but I was really excited the whole time. Here are the different stages my butter went through:

First the butter gets fully melted:

20120903-213934.jpg

Then it starts to bubble very very quickly!

20120903-213939.jpg

Then it starts to get a little golden…

20120903-213946.jpg

Then it’s a golden brown and the smell fills the kitchen… a very nutty deep smell that makes you want to keep sniffing it!

20120903-213952.jpg

I poured mine into a glass bowl to come to room temp before I continued on with the rest of the recipe:

20120903-213956.jpg

There you have it! Browned butter! It takes about 10 minutes but it is absolutely worth it, in my opinion. These cookies even LOOK good–the perfect shape and color!

Here is the recipe–I followed it nearly step by step.

1 cup unsalted butter (2 sticks)
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
1 tsp pure vanilla extract

2 1/2 cups unbleached flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp kosher salt
12 oz semi-sweet or bittersweet chocolate chips or chunks

Directions

1. Melt butter in heavy saucepan over medium heat. Whisking frequently, heat until butter turns golden brown (about 8-10 minutes). Let cool to room temperature in a separate heat safe bowl. If you leave it in the pan it could overcook and turn butter.

2. In separate bowl, add sugars. Pour in brown butter and whisk until smooth. Whisk in eggs and vanilla.

3. In separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and kosher salt.

4. Add dry ingredients to sugar mixture, and stir until just combined. Let mixture completely cool before adding chocolate chips (or they will melt). Fold in chocolate chips.

5. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Scoop 1/8 cup portions of dough onto cookie sheet and flatten slightly. Bake 8-10 minutes, until tops are set and bottoms are just turning golden brown.

This dough is best baked right away — if you need to chill the dough, let it come to room temperature for easier scooping.

20120903-220137.jpg

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

