How hard it is to lose weight… my story part 1

I’ve always been the bigger girl of the group. I’ve always been the chubby one and the one on a constant diet. But I also used to be the big boned athletic girl! I remember being slender and fit, just big. Large all around in all honesty.

So now with boot camp it’s about losing weight. And I’m trying, really hard actually. I can honestly say that I haven’t been cheating myself and when I have cheated I’ve owned up to it.

But. The. Weight. Isn’t. Moving.

20120815-134231.jpg

–on a tangent–my cheats are awesome now. I “cheated” Monday night and texted my bootcamp leader so upset about it. My meal: tuna fish on a sandwich thin with hummus and pretzels. I was guilty over that?! HA! She really pointed out to me that I’ve made so much progress. My cheat in the past would have been fried chicken or a bacon cheeseburger and fries at Chili’s. At least my “cheat” is still healthy.

Anyways, so my weight isn’t moving and I’m also doing a lot of cardio and strength workouts during the week. I did just start my cycle (sorry to any men out there reading this) and I’m glad my weight didn’t go up like it usually does. I just need to know what to do to jump start my diet. So today, since it is the first day of my cycle I’m at home using a sick day (really hoping that once I am preggo I’ll stop having such awful intense cycles) and thinking that I need to remember to track my food and plan better. If I don’t plan, I’ll fail. Failing is not an option.

Tagged: , , , ,

5 thoughts on “How hard it is to lose weight… my story part 1

  1. Free Your Mind Today August 16, 2012 at 3:22 PM Reply

    Hello! I think fitness is a journey that can’t be defined solely by our weight. As people, our sizes vary so much that it’s just seems ridiculous to try and judge ourselves based on a number. For example, if you are tall, why compare your weight to someone a foot shorter than you?

    I wish you well on your athletic journey! But try to avoid thinking of pounds and calories, and be happy with results you get along the way 🙂

    • angiemae2401 August 17, 2012 at 12:16 AM Reply

      Thank you so much! It’s certainly nice to be reminded of these things when I get a little fixed and narrow minded!!

  2. father2bblog August 16, 2012 at 9:10 PM Reply

    Hello again 🙂

    You have read my mind! I am about to write a dieting post (probably tomorrow) as my wife and I have decided to lose weight and eat healthy for a while before we start trying for ours.

    Don’t worry about the weight staying still for a bit– it can happen. There are specific things that can cause it when you start or increase a diet/workout schedule. I hope the following two points is news to you and helps push you through those ‘lag’ moments (sorry this is a long one). if it is news, speak to your gym/class leader about it – they may have even more good advice on it?

    1) Water retention. This catches a lot of people out for two reasons. First, if you start a diet many people will tell you to drink lots of water to help stave off the cravings and to help flush the impurities out of your body. Second, when you exercise more you drink more.

    As a result your body ends up with more fluid in it (water retention) and of course, water is heavy. It’s not uncommon and it can take a few weeks for it to even out – assuming you stick to a regular routine (it takes longer if you don’t). So don’t worry, it will level out in time but can help to explain ‘static weight syndrome’ in a new diet. Also, don’t stop drinking – you need it and it won’t help to reduce your fluids.

    2) Muscle weighs more than fat. It’s not just an old wives tale, it’s true. If you are not particularly physically active or if you suddenly increase your physical activity you will build muscle and thus put weight on.

    Sudden increase in physical activity WILL lead to improved muscle tone/definition, which adds weight – ironic huh? When I left the army I became less interested in my health/fitness and I had the depressing sight of watching my weight go down as my fat % went up! I was loosing my muscle bulk through lack of exercise. I have scales that measure fat % and these are really good for helping keep a better eye on your condition (note the use of the word condition not weight).

    I used to know someone that was 5′ 10″ tall and weighed just over 16 stone (about 224lbs). According to his BMI rating he was very overweight and nearly obese. Fortunately for him he was a soldier, health fanatic and gym bunny and had less than 8% body fat on him – somewhere between 33-66% less than the average. Condition, tone or muscle definition can be more important than just raw weight loss – and that includes for girls. Oh, as a rule of thumb, for us ‘normal’ non gym bunny types, it’s easier to put on 1g of muscle than to lose 1g of fat in the early part of a diet– that’s not a bad thing as you will see below, but it does help explain ‘static weight syndrome’.

    Moral of the story? Don’t panic or get downhearted if the weight stays static for a bit, especially if you’re doing physical activity. The good thing about muscle is that while it adds weight, it also helps burn fat more efficiently. The more muscle you have the more efficiently it burns fat – so it’s a good thing even if the scales say you are not losing weight. Oh, and if you have previously not done much physical work, you build muscle very quickly at first, even if you are only doing cardio work.

    Below are two links to a dieting guide on a website for a well known brand of protein shake. Don’t get too absorbed with the gym bunny/protein shake sales stuff, but do read it. It will offer some fascinating insights into how (and why) going to the gym, having muscle, eating well and (ironically) still eating certain fats/foods is actually really important to a healthy body and losing weight/building muscle – it really is a fantastic 2 minute guide once you cut out the sales clatter.

    Disclaimer: I am not affiliated with the website below, I don’t even use their products and I am not making any money from the links/referral. In fact, I would strongly recommend you don’t even use any of their products under your current circumstances.

    http://www.maximuscle.com/research/anewyou.html
    http://www.maximuscle.com/article/nutrition/musclenutrition.html

    Hope this helps and keep on trying – it’s always worth it, especially when trying for/having a baby.

    • angiemae2401 August 17, 2012 at 12:19 AM Reply

      Wow! So much good info. I have been inconsistent with my water and I’m trying to improve on that!

      I’m going to check out these websites :)I can definitely feel more muscle coming on but I would really like to get rid of more of the fat around my waist and hips.

      Hahah, it really is comical how similar our paths are right now.

  3. […] to see that I am not the only one that has thought about this. One of the bloggers I follow (Run Angie Mae Run) is in almost exactly the same position as me (trying for a baby etc) and she has recently posted […]

Leave a Reply

