Boot Camp: The After

Life after bootcamp has been hard. Really hard. Our leader, Nita, has still stayed in touch but she has a new group of women each month–it’s natural that she wouldn’t be able to devote quite as much time to us as she did during our month. I thought for sure I could keep doing it on my own but I had no idea how easy it would be to just spiral out of control. And it’s scary–that kind of behavior is what got me to my heaviest weight ever in the first place!

I'm outta control!

The first couple of weeks were the worst. I kind of felt lost when it came to eating and extremely tired. I was tired of cooking, tired of measuring, tired of not having bacon cheeseburgers with french fries.

20120622-204659.jpg

It has been an adjustment. I’ve had to learn what I need and what my body wants. I’m trying to learn what it takes to lose weight while still living a normal life again. And quite honestly my normal life needs to be a healthy and satisfying one. I never realized it would require this much brain power just to be normal!

20120622-204856.jpg

I’m trying to allow myself treats (grapes are like candy and Starbucks soy lattes are sweet and rich heaven) and the occasional real candy bar (this weeks option: Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups).

20120622-204847.jpg

I’m also trying to at least make sure my breakfast is super healthy to get me on the right track and that lunch or dinner is on the boot camp plan. If I get a little crazy (or a lot) with one of the meals at lesat I know I’m more than enough on track for the others.

Workouts have also been rough. The good thing is that after I work out I feel absolutely amazing–that’s motivation to keep going when I don’t want to. The bad thing is that I’ve been so busy with work and life that I’ve had a very sporadic workout schedule.

20120622-204907.jpg

Bottom line–life after Boot Camp is hard but I’m trying really hard to make it successful. I’d like to be another 12 pounds down before my August bootcamp begins and I still believe I can do that!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

