Marshmallows Galore!

I love baking, that’s no surprise. I’m always trying to create new recipes and I’ve started compiling them into a cook book for me to keep.

The other night I decided to make marshmallows. Yes, marshmallows. Delicious! I will warn you–the first time, it will be very messy. I later learned from some other websites a few more tricks. I’ve added those tips to my recipe here for you!

They are so simple and quick to make. Homemade s’mores have never tasted better!

You will need:

Vegetable oil, for brushing
4 envelopes unflavored gelatin
3 cups sugar
1 1/4 cups light corn syrup
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Prepare a 9×13 glass baking dish by brushing it with oil, lining with parchment and then brushing that with oil. I assume a spray would work as well. For extra help–sprinkle with powdered sugar. Then just set it aside.

Put granulated sugar, corn syrup, salt, and 3/4 cup water into a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil over high heat, stirring to dissolve sugar.

Then, cook the mixture, without stirring, until it reaches 238 degrees on a candy thermometer. This took a little under 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, put 3/4 cup cold water into the bowl of an electric mixer; sprinkle with gelatin. Let soften 5 minutes. I wish I had done this as my mixture was boiling on the stove–so I recommend that you do it then! It takes a little longer than 5 minutes to fully dissolve and soften.

Attach bowl with gelatin to mixer fitted with the whisk attachment. I actually used my paddle but only because the whisk I have is too small (got the wrong size!)

20120114-152822.jpg

With mixer on low speed, beat hot syrup into gelatin mixture. Here is a BIG tip: drape a clean heavy towel over the mix while it’s beating in the mixer–if you don’t you’ll get sticky sugary splotches all over your kitchen, seriously.

Gradually raise speed to high; beat until mixture is stiff. This took about 12 minutes or so for me. Beat in vanilla.

20120114-152728.jpg

Pour into prepared dish, and smooth with an offset spatula. Set aside, uncovered, until firm, about 3 hours.

Sift 1 cup confectioners’ sugar onto a work surface. Unmold marshmallow onto confectioners’ sugar; remove parchment. Lightly brush a sharp knife with oil, then cut marshmallow into 2-inch squares. Sift remaining 1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar into a small bowl, and roll each marshmallow in the sugar to coat.

Then go grab some graham crackers and chocolate and enjoy!

Recipe thanks to Martha Stewart

Leave a Reply

