Christmas Weekend Recap Pt 1

This weekend is Christmas! I know, I know, I can hear you all saying “duhhh” well I LOVE pointing out the obvious so sue me πŸ™‚

WARNING–A MILLION GAZILLION PICS BELOW!

Well, we started out the weekend with a new tradition: breakfast at the Mason Jar! The Mason Jar is a great little hometown restaurant in Dona Vista. Once you walk in you feel like you’re at home. Even the animals greet you!
The Mason Jar

I had biscuits and gravy–it was so good, I could have had two!! The Husband had the blueberry pancakes and honestly, I like my pancakes better but what can I say, I make a mean pancake πŸ™‚

The Mason Jar
The Mason Jar

Then we went hiking in the Ocala National Forest! We live so close and honestly, I always see Julie over at PB Fingers going on her great adventures now that they live in Ocala–well heck, I’m not that far from the south part of the forest!

20111225-155311.jpg

We hit up the Alexander Springs Center and went hiking on quite a few of the trails. It was such a blast!

20111225-155355.jpgOcala National Forest

It’s a really great facility that rents canoes and I believe there was a little snack/drink shop as well–perfect if you’ve forgotten anything! Plus–bathrooms! Always nice when you’re out in the woods πŸ™‚

We took the boardwalk for most of the trails and it was so beautiful. The water is crystal clear at each stop. Can you imagine just going kayaking here? We decided we’re going to look into a rack for the top of my car so we can go kayaking more often!
Ocala National Forest
Ocala National Forest
Ocala National Forest

Then we also decided to go onto the trails.
Ocala National Forest

The Husband didn’t like the fact that there was no clear direction but I could tell that the trails were still well maintained. Plus, I had my handy dandy compass–thanks to the iPhone!

Ocala National Forest

It was a lot of fun and we can’t wait to go back again. We spent the rest of the evening at home–I took a nap and was even more exhausted than when I went to bed! Don’t you hate when that happens?

Part two coming up….

Leave a Reply

