Making our house a home

We’ve been working on our home since the day we moved in.  It’s gone through a lot of changes and today I was determined to complete something I started long ago!  I’ve always loved the look of gallery walls.  Go on Pinterest and you’ll see pictures of dozens that I’ll never be able to pull off.  Seriously, I should have thought of pinterestfail.com first—have you been to that site before?  It’s hilarious and so so true.  I go on Pinterest with good intentions but I always fall a little short—either with time, money, creativity or all three!

Here are some walls I was really starting to love:

 
 
 
 

Source: centsationalgirl.com via Mermaid on Pinterest

So, naturally, I turned to Pinterest to also find ideas on how to lay out my gallery wall.  This one was my favorite:

Source: fresh.curbly.com via AngieMae on Pinterest

 

Then, I got to work.  Here is what our living room looked like before.

DSCF2665

You can kind of see that we had a big picture and two sconces.  I should take more pics—we have a new lamp, new blankets, table decor, etc.  Anyways, back to the wall.

I found a canvas print from Hobby Lobby and as soon as I saw it I knew that I wanted to use it in our living room.

IMG_7979[1]

Then I just found a few things around the house and started making a mock-up arrangement on the coffee table.

IMG_7980[1]

Our initial… a couple of frames… an initial hook from Anthropologie that I bought on clearance a couple years ago… I didn’t have to buy anything new for this wall, which made me REALLY happy but I will need to add to it in the future, I think.

IMG_7986[1]IMG_7987[1]

Any suggestions?  I’m thinking there needs to be one or two bigger frames and prints to even it all out.

I thought about using this picture (below) but I couldn’t really get it to fit and look right.  So, I just put it on the table and I’m keeping it there for now.  Or until a kitten decides to knock it over!

IMG_7992[1]

Ahhh…. happily ever after :)

Tagged: , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Making our house a home

  1. RedCandy September 18, 2012 at 6:18 PM Reply

    I love grouping mixed grams on a wall. I’m planning on doing that in one of my bedrooms. I have all the frames and pictures, but I’m not sure on the set up. Anyway, yours looks great!

    • RedCandy September 18, 2012 at 6:21 PM Reply

      Frames that should say, not grams….silly iPad.

      • runangiemaerun September 18, 2012 at 7:08 PM

        Oh my goodness, autocorrect drives me
        Nuts too! Lol

        Thank you! It was harder to plan than I thought…. My lack of patience didn’t help!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

